Jake Jacobson, Colby Jones, Sloane Simmons and Casey Simmons mingle at the Philanthropy Awards Luncheon.

Nonprofit News

Stay updated on the latest news in Kansas City's nonprofit community.

Does your organization have good news to share? Nonprofit Connect is pleased to share news from our members on our website. Post your recent hiring announcements, fundraising achievements, honors and awards, or other good news. Log in to post your news.

Please post event announcements on our free Community Events Calendar.

CSF announces recipients for 2019 Visual Artist Awards and 2019 Generative Performing Artist Awards

February 11, 2019
KANSAS CITY, Mo, February 11, 2019: Charlotte Street Foundation is excited to congratulate three recipients of the 2019 Visual Artist Awards and two recipients of the 2019 Generative Performing Artist Awards. Newly-announced fellows of the 2019 Visual Artist Awards are Boi Boy, Megan Pobywajlo and Fatimah Tuggar. Newly-announced fellows of the 2019 Generative Performing Artist Awards are Sheri Purpose Hall and David Wayne Reed.
Each Charlotte Street Visual Artist Award Fellow receives an unrestricted cash grant of $10,000, recognition by Charlotte Street at the time of Award announcement and throughout 2019—including announcements to media, web-based marketing and promotional efforts, special events, and inclusion in the 2019 Charlotte Street Visual Artist Awards Exhibition at Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art later in 2019. The exhibition will be curated by Erin Dziedzic, who is the Director of Curatorial Affairs at Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art.
The 2019 Charlotte Street Generative Performing Artist Awards recognize two exceptional artists in the fields of dance, theatre, music, opera, sound art, performance art, multimedia performance, spoken word, puppetry or hybrid performance-based forms. Both of the artists will also receive an unrestricted cash award of $10,000 and their public performances will be promoted by Charlotte Street throughout the rest of 2019.
All of the 2019 Charlotte Street Award Fellows were selected through competitive processes beginning with open calls for applications from artists based in the five-county Kansas City Metro Area. Artists selections were made by a panel of jurors consisting of renowned and qualified arts professionals. Jurors participated in in-person interviews, presentations, and studio visits, resulting in the selection of 9 finalists for the Generative Performing Artists Awards and 10 finalists for the Visual Artist Awards.
The Visual Artist Awards panel included Erin Dziedzic, Director of Curatorial Affairs at Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art (Kansas City, MO), Allison Glenn, Associate Curator of Contemporary Art at Crystal Bridges Museum of America Art (Bentonville, AR), Humberto Moro, Curator at SCAD Museum of Art (Savannah, GA), and Gregory Volk, Art Writer and Associate Professor (New York, NY).
The Generative Performing Artist Awards panel included Denise Chapman, Associate Director, Performing Arts at the Union for Contemporary Art (Omaha, NB), Patrick Alonzo Conway, musician and composer (Kansas City, MO), Dr. Charlotte Farrell, Director of the Center for Performance Research (Brooklyn, NY), and Darren Canady, playwright (Topeka, KS).