Skip to content

League of Women Voters of Johnson County KS

League of Women Voters of Johnson County KS


Public/Societal BenefitBoard of DirectorsNonprofit Member

About Us

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan, community-based organization that has fought since 1920 to improve our government and engage all citizens in the decisions that impact our lives. The League is nonpartisan, which means it neither supports nor opposes candidates or parties.

We envision a democracy where every person has the desire, the right, the knowledge and the confidence to participate.

We believe hands-on work safeguards democracy, which leads to civic improvement. To fulfill our mission, we:

+ Educate citizens about issues, legislation and candidates.
+ Encourage individual participation in the political process.
+ Inform voters through in-depth, objective study.
+ Monitor local, state and national government bodies and activities.
+ Register voters.
+ Sponsor candidate forums and public issue forums.

Members gain knowledge and experience and discover new interests through the study and discussion of timely issues and topics. Through participation in League activities, members contribute valuable services to the community, building a stronger democracy.


League members register voters in community events throughout the year.
Gallery Image voterregistration..jpg
Gallery Image volunteering.jpg
LWVJoco hosts candidate events so that voters can learn more about the people running for elected office.
LWVJoCo hosts meetings throughout the year on an array of topics important to the Kansas City region.
Davis Hammet, founder of Loud Light, was the featured speaker at our May meeting about everyday activism.
LWVJoCo hosts forums when the state legislature is in session so that citizens have an opportunity to ask their elected officials about the issues they care about.
LWVJoCo sends several delegates to the national convention, which take place every two years.
LWVJoCo recognizes citizens who are making a difference in our democracy. These teachers from Rosehill Elementary School were honored for creating curriculum for third-graders to foster civic engagement.
LWVJoCo presented Lindsey Constance, Shawnee City Council member, and Mike Kelly, Roeland Park major, with Making Democracy Work Awards for their leadership in creating the Metro KC Climate Action Coalition to address climate change at the regional level.
Gallery Image npc6.jpg